Quick Web Site:www.study666.com
Search by School Name     

Home > University Search Detail

Southwest University of Science and Technology
Zone:South West
Address:No.59 Qinglong AV Fucheng District MIANYANG 621010
Institution (Private/Public):Public
Year Founded:1952
Started Semester: September
School Advantages
Southwest University of Science and Technology approved by the Ministry of Education in August 2000 is a new, multi-discipline university, the result of the amalgamation of the former Southwest Institute of Technology and the former Mianyang College of Economy and Technology. The origin of Southwest Institute of Technology can be traced back to Chongqing Architectural Engineering School in 1952. In 1978, it was renamed Sichuan Institute of Building Materials, when it formally gained the right to grant Bachelor degrees. It was again renamed as Southwest Institute of Technology in 1993. The development goal of the university is to become a comprehensive university that is not only first class at home, but that also has international influence. Therefore, SWUST must place strong emphasis on internationalization. SWUST has established extensive cooperation relationships with foreign universities and research institutes in America, Britain, Canada, Australia, Russia, Japan, and so on. Over 200 members of persons have been to foreign countries for study or training. Funded by the Canadian International Development Agency, SWUST and Laurentian University have jointly established the Distance Education Center for Western China. Moreover, SWUST, La Trobe University, and Northern Melbourne Institute of TAFE have established the School of International Business at SWUST.
Apply Now
University Profile

 Southwest University of Science and Technology(SWUST)is a multi-disciplinary university with 60 years of education located in Mianyang Sichuan Province. The university is under the administration of both the State Commission of Science Technology and Industry for National Defense and the Sichuan Provincial People’s government. It is one of 14 key universities receiving State’s special support in western China. The university possesses the national science & technology park approved by the state’s MST and MOE. The university covers an area of about 273 hectares with a building floorage of one million square meters. The university serves over 29,000 fulltime postgraduate and undergraduate students. The university has 2,300 staff including 1,600 teachers, one academician of the Chinese Engineering Academy and 600 associate professors and professors. SWUST has 17 schools, it offers 67 undergraduate degree programs, 34 master degree programs and 5 engineering master degree programs in 8 subjects namely Engineering, Science, Economics, Law, Arts, Agriculture, Management and Education. In addition, the university offers 4 Ph.D joint programs with the Chinese Academy of Engineering Physics. The university currently has one national key subject laboratory, one ministerial-provincial joint key laboratory, 7 provincial key laboratories, 12 ministerial-provincial key disciplines, 3 national specialties, 34 provincial specialties, one national modeling center for teaching practice and 5 provincial modeling center for Labs teaching.
 As a large,dynamic and diverse university of the 21st century,SWUST offers a wide range of programs at the Bachelor and Master levels ,exchange or visiting students programs, and flexible Chinese Language Training programs at different levels are also available for international students.