Study in China - Welcome To Study in SNU  
Login - Help - Contact us  

Shenyang Normal University is under the jurisdiction of the Liaoning Provincial People¡¯s Government of China. It is a multi-discipline university consisting of eight main fields of study: philosophy, economics, law, education, literature, physical science, technology, and administrative science.
The university was first established in 1951 as Northeastern Educational College, and was changed to Shenyang Teachers¡¯ College in 1953. It was one of two accredited teaching universities originally founded in China¡¯s Northeast Region. The famous educators Dong Chuncai, Che Xiangchen, and Wu Boxiao successively served as the primary leaders of the University. In 1965, the name was changed to Liaoning First Teachers¡¯ College until Shenyang Teachers¡¯ College was reinstated in 1978. Finally, in 2001, the Liaoning Provincial Government decided, with the approval of China¡¯s Ministry of Education, to merge Shenyang Teachers¡¯ College with Liaoning Educational College in order to forge a strong and competitive university, known today as Shenyang Normal University.
The university now covers an area of 300 acres of land with 793,000 square meters of floor space, and our university library houses over 1.5 million volumes of books. There are currently 20921 full-time undergraduate students, 753 master degree candidates, 820 part-time adult education master degree students, as well as 170 international students attending our university.
To date, the University has produced over 60,000 talented teachers and personnel with integrity, making tremendous contributions and giving back to the communities of China¡¯s Northeast Region, especially Liaoning Province.

The University currently houses a total of fifteen colleges, including the Liaoning Provincial Basic Education Teaching Research Training Center and College of Educational Science, the Science and Information Software College, the International Commercial College, the Information Technology College, the Foreign Language College, Dramatic Art College, etc. There are also eleven teaching departments and centers directly under the University¡¯s authority. Within those departments, there are forty-five undergraduate academic majors and thirty-one master degrees.
The University also allows working adults, whose academic achievements equal that of a master degree, to apply for master degree and specialized educational master degree qualifications. There is also a unit for receiving international students who received scholarships awarded by the Chinese government.
The University has achieved key national status for its physical education, laboratories, academic courses and collaborative academic courses, working with other institutions in the community.
The University has set up a total of thirty research branches, such as the School of Human Resource Development and Administrative Science, the Research Institute of Educational Economy and Administration, the Research Institute of Entomological Science, with four of the research bases collaborating closely with their respective partners in the community and field through internships.
The University staffs some of the most highly qualified teachers in the region, representing all ages groups, including those with strong academic achievements, educational and scientific research backgrounds, outstanding character. Currently, the University employs 1,400 full-time teachers, including ten visiting professors from the Chinese Academy of Sciences, and 663 professors and associate professors. Out of these professionals has emerged a select group of national and provincial specialists, as well as numerous nationally renowned influential scholars.
In addition, the University has invited a large number of academics from the Chinese Academies of Science and Engineering, as well as many national and international scholars, to act as honorary visiting professors. The University has also hired many international teachers and entered into successful agreements of academic exchange and cooperation with more than thirty higher learning institutions and research facilities of the United States of America, Great Britain, Canada, Japan, Russia, Belgium, Denmark, Australia, and the Republic of Korea. Our teachers have participated in exchange programs with these countries to further their studies, give lectures, and to promote collaborations in conducting scientific research.

A Welcome Address from the President

Copyright © 2005 Study in China Network